Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS Networking issue

mbjmhalgi
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am new to this technology & facing a peculiar issue with the UCS blade networking.

Two UCS B200 M3 blades are configured as ESXi hosts. Static IPs have been configured.

Both the blades are able to connect to the external network but they are not able to connect to each other.

Due to this I am able to add them to vCenter but can not run the HA agent.

Can anybody support me to resolve the issue?

Warm Regards,

Jitendra

12 Replies 12

Walter Dey
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Jitendra

Are the 2 ESX in the same IP subnet and vlan ?

I assume youcan ping both ESX from the outside, as well as ping from ESX to the outside ?

How is the UCS system connected to the outside ?

Walter.

Hi Walter,

Yes, they are in the same VLAN and ping from ESX to outside is OK as well as ping from outside to ESX. UCS is connected through FI to server farm switch.

-Jitendra

- are you using vswitch or DVS or N1k ?

- is this one server farm switch, which connects both FI ? or 2 ?

- in case you have 2 North bound server farm switches, is this vlan configured between the 2 ?

- external network is physical switch

- there are 2 farm switches

- yes VLAN is configured between the two

The issue is why two servers can't talk to each other when they can with the external world

I assume/hope you are in Ethernet End Host mode ?

In this case, the 2 FI are separate fabrics, no data traffic flows between FI.

If you have a vswitch with 2 interfaces connecting to fabric A and B, in can happen, that even within the same vlan, that server 1 sends traffic on fabric A, and server 2 receives the traffic on fabric B.

Which means traffic has to go North bound exiting UCS and return into UCS again. Therefore, if you have no proper Vlan connectivity outside your UCS domain, it will not work.