Helpful
Replies

Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller

lachimip
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am new to Cisco WLC.

I have Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller and it is running on software version 17.3.4c.

I am told to upgrade to the latest one and I have no idea which is the latest one with no bug in it. I tried to download the software from website, but I saw many different types and I am bit worried that I may use the wrong one. I am attaching here the to show which made me more confused. Can anyone tell me which is the latest and bug-free firmware for my controller( Cisco Catalyst 9800-40 Wireless Controller) and send me a link to download it. I can only upgrade it from GUI if you would like to show me some steps as well.

lachimip_0-1712896273972.png

21 Replies 21

@marce1000 wrote:
the wireless must always be there  , also at night (e.g.)

That is highly debateable and subjective.  Most 9-5 business do not want to implement nightly reboot because they do not know how to automate this.  And most "24-hour" business do not know when they can have a 6 minute WiFi outage.  

Option B:  Do not use 17.9.4/17.9.4a or 17.9.5. 

Option C:  Do nothing and tolerate a rolling outage when the bugs (plural term) kick in.

@lachimip@marce1000@eglinsky2012,

We have been told by WNBU to keep the controller AP capacity to <85%, i.  e.  <5000 x APs for the -80 and <850 x APs for the -40. 

I personally believe HA SSO is a very bad solution because HA SSO contributes to the instability of the WLC.  For instance, we have 2 x 9800-80 in HA SSO and 2 x 9800-80 in standalone and the HA SSO constantly needs to be failed-over.  The most common issue we've seen is the controller would randomly put users in "Authenticating" state.  Failover would temporarily fix this issue until it re-occurs again.

I think daily reboot of the APs is going to be a "norm".