cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CBS350: what is the recommended setup to share internet between VLANs?

aizl
Level 1
Level 1

Hello!

We have two stacked CBS350-48FP-4X switches with an Arris DG1670A modem / router (which we believe has VLAN 802.1Q tagging support). I'm a bit new to networking, so some of my terminology might be off.

We'd like to share internet access between ~5 VLANs: is this the recommended configuration for ease-of-use?

1. Disable DHCP on the modem.
  2. Create VLANs with separate subnets and enable DHCP for clients. (e.g., VLAN10 = 192.168.10.xxx)
  3. Assign the VLAN an IP interface and set that as the default gateway for clients on that VLAN. 
  4. Enable "IPv4 routing" in the switch (what exactly does this toggle do? does this create SVIs?)
  5. Create a static route between each VLAN's IP to the modem's internal IP.
  6. Create a trunk port with all the VLANs as tagged members and connect that trunk port to the modem.
  7. On the modem, enable 802.1Q and then enter all the switch's VLANs + their respective subnets (e.g., "VLAN10 is on the 192.168.10 subnet")
  8. Setup ACLs to block VLAN-to-VLAN traffic (I assume that step #4 has allowed all VLANs to communicate with other VLANs?)

Is this the recommended setup? I ask because we don't really have easy access to Spectrum's modem configuration and we need to request permission from Spectrum each time to edit its configuration, which is workable but not ideal. Is there another way to share internet between VLANs with this hardware? 

I've read a bit about RIP, RIPv2, OSPF, and EIGRP as replacing some of the steps above, but I can't confirm if this CBS350 switch has any of those capabilities and/or whether they'd be preferable here. 

3 Replies 3

Baum
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

We used Cisco CBS350 8 ports Gigabit Switch for our company. You may check this guide: VLAN Configuration via CLI on CBS250 and CBS350 Series Managed Switches: