Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MGCP viability and forward design planning

Greetings,

I am currently studying the CCNP Collaboration (working on CLACCM at the moment) and I was curious as to the viability of MGCP controlled voice ports for PSTN integration over current technologies such as SIP. As it stands I have a deployment that utilizes MGCP to our VGR and all works fine but I am more curious about future planning and what the responsible design decision would be moving forward. Unfortunately Collaboration isn't my strong suite and so voice design and where to find design documents is a weakness. If there is a Design Zone document that addresses this very question please feel free to point me in that direction- but I am interested in the communities input on the use of MGCP.

Thank you in advance for any insight you can offer!

1 Accepted Solution
3 Replies 3

Thank you Nithin! In my efforts to gain a better grasp of voice technologies I want to understand the design decisions that would lead someone to prefer one method over the other. Completely spaced on looking to Cisco Live.

Edit: An additional resource for anyone else that may be interested- Cisco design zone does have a Collaboration section. Here is a link for Gateway specific design considerations: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/srnd/collab12/collab12/gateways.html#marker-1264078

The design recommendation is SIP however site constraints will dictate the design (as always)

Hi Stephan,