Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE BYOD machine authentication 3.1.0.x

jardelalmeida
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Guys,

I need help to validate whether my understanding is correct.
I'm new to ISE, I know some rules but I can't progress with my client's problem.
1 - He has an AD, but there is no GPO policy for Wireless.
2 - There is a rule in ISe that first validates the machine, then the user, and if both match, it will be released to the corporate network.
If it doesn't match on the machine (client's domain), it receives a different vlan, and falls under the Byod rule.

jardelalmeida_0-1714218563836.png

To get around it without AD support, we tried to change the rules for TEAP, however, as there are many machines, we would have to do this via GPO, and the experts were unable to do so.

Doubts:
1 - Is there any way to validate the user and machine without a specific GPO for Wireless (802.1x)?
2 - If not, the team should create a GPO that installs the certificate on the machine, right? Then I would have to change my rule to TLS, is that right? But could you share some example/video on how I should configure this rule? I think that to authenticate the visitor's machine (if it doesn't have the certificate), I don't know if it would be the same rule, for example:
Rule 1:
AND: EAP-TLS

AND: AD
AND: Cerificate Subject - Common name Starts_With "string x, y, or z"
Result => VLAN Permit 56

And if you don't fall under this rule
Rule 2:
AND: Radius Called Stations ID (SSID)
AND:AD External to the client (domain user)
Result => Vlan Permit 57 (Byod Rule - User's own machine)

That makes sense?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

TLS is certificate auth. If the device is a personal device and not enrolled in AD, it won’t get a certificate and will not be able to use EAP-TLS

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

1. You can manually configure all supplicants.