Views
Helpful
Replies

Automating IOS Upgrade: Python script throws error ("Socket exception:

Eseharrison88
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new to python and have written a script based on my experience so far with python to automate the process of an IOS upgrade. I have over 500 devices within my organization to upgrade their images to the latest ios. I have written my code in two stages: a pre-upgrade stage and an upgrade + post-upgrade stage.

The pre-upgrade stage is scripted to log in to the devices one after the other to collect data such as - hostname, current version, model, flash space availaibility etc.

Code worked well within a lab environment but testing it out on the live devices throughs the error below:

"Socket exception: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host
(10054)"

Logs on the cisco router had this : %SSH-4-SSH2_UNEXPECTED_MSG: Unexpected message type has arrived. Terminating the connection from x.x.x.x.

Code: (Truncated to improve readability)

import os
import subprocess, re, netmiko
from netmiko import ConnectHandler
from netmiko.ssh_exception import NetmikoTimeoutException
from netmiko.ssh_exception import SSHException
from netmiko.ssh_exception import AuthenticationException
from netmiko import SCPConn
from datetime import datetime, time
import time
import csv

#Cisco ISR Data
new_ios_ISR_size = "702197190"

#Cisco C800 Data
new_ios_c800_size = "97199776"

#Cisco C1900 Data
new_ios_c1900_size = "41735808"

###########################################################################

#Creating the CSV files for pre upgrade

#clearing the old data from the pre-upgrade CSV file and writing the headers
f = open("data/pre_upgrade.csv", "w+")
f.write("IP Address, Hostname, Uptime, Current_Version, Current_Image, Serial_Number, Device_Model, Device_Memory, Available_space, space")
f.write("\n")
f.close()

#clearing the old data from the logs file and writing the headers
f = open("data/logs.txt", "w+")
f.close()