cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Remote Desktop Application Duo Access Only and 2FA Requirements

nekton181
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Duo and don’t have it installed yet as I have some questions about whether it would be right for our environment.

We have 7 computers in our LAN which is behind a physical firewall. Users use the Remote Desktop application to get their desktops remotely. At the office, it is not uncommon for someone to log into another person’s desktop as that person.

Can Duo be set up so that 2FA be set up only when coming in through the Remote Desktop application but not require 2FA when they are locally at their computers?

When using 2FA, is there an app that runs on the phone? Will this app run on any phone or are their certain IOS or Android versions required. I could not find that in the requirements section of the basic documentation I looked at.

Maybe I am misunderstanding completely how Duo works. If that is the case, I would appreciate a link that would help me correct my understanding.

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Amy2
Level 5
Level 5

Hi @nekton181, welcome to the Duo Community! Thanks for sharing your question here with us. I’ll be happy to answer you and provide as much guidance as I can

Yes, to do this you will just need to select the “Only prompt for Duo authentication when logging in via RDP” option in the installer. You can read more on this in the Important Notes section of our documentation.

Yes, Duo Mobile is our mobile authenticator app you can use to approve Duo Push notifications for certain protected applications (including Windows Logon for RDP) and generate passcodes. You can see which versions of Android and iOS are currently supported in the following articles:

ETA: I hope that helps! Please let me know if you have any other questions I can assist with.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Amy2
Level 5
Level 5