Views
Helpful
Replies

New to Duo, how to login on RDP

HTS1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I’m very new to Duo. I’m looking for a second factor for RDP sessions.

So I just created my first Duo Account with my e-mail address and my phone number. Now I can login to the admin panel - getting the 6-digit code on my phone within the Duo-App.

First I created a user (manualy) just by giving a name (the same name as the RDP-user). After this I added a Phone to this new user. The given phone is my own phone… the same phone that I use for the admin account.

In the last step I added an RDP application. Now I have “Microsoft RDP” with keys and hostname. I downloaded the software, installed it on my Windows Server 2019 and did the first try.

With my RDP-Login there comes up the new Duo-Screen. I was asked for the code. So far so good.
Unfortunately, the code from my phone didn’t work. I guess it’s because I’m the admin and a user at the same time?
Because several 6-digit codes from the Duo-App didn’t work I requested a code via SMS. A few moments later my phone recieved the SMS and the given code worked fine. I was able to login to my RDP-Server.

So the SMS on my own phone worked but the code inside the Duo-App on the same phone didn’t.

What do I have to change?

In my Duo-App I have only 1 account. This account is a “Duo Admin”… but it has the username of my manualy added user. I guess this is the issue.

Kind regards
Thomas

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

mkorovesisduo
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Thomas, Duo administrator accounts are different from Duo end-user accounts. This Knowledge Base article lays out the differences.

You will need a Duo administrator account to manage your Duo “deployment” via the Duo Admin Panel (where you created the RDP application) and a Duo end-user account to log in to Duo-protected applications.