Views
Helpful
Replies

Duo authentication proxy - how it works

akosijesyang
Level 1
Level 1

Hello folks!

I’m totally new to Duo, but I’ve been working as an IT pro for quite a while now. Our organization is exploring the idea of implementing Duo MFA to domain-joined Windows Servers.

I’ve managed to set up a basic environment to initially test how Duo works and everything seems to work. Though I have questions around Authentication Proxy…

1. From official docs (Authentication Proxy Reference - Duo | Duo Security) “The Duo Authentication Proxy is an on-premises software service that receives authentication requests from your local devices and applications via RADIUS or LDAP, optionally performs primary authentication against your existing LDAP directory or RADIUS authentication server, and then contacts Duo to perform secondary authentication.” - does this mean domain member servers with Duo agent no longer need Internet access?
  2. My initial setup of authentication proxy did not have [ad_client], and everything was working. So, I’m wondering what’s the difference if I add [ad_client]?

The ultimate objective I have in mind is when I roll out Duo to our production environment is to limit limit our servers connecting to the internet, if that’s possible through Authentication Proxy.

I’ve seen this What are the differences between [ad_client] and [radius_client] Duo Authentication Proxy configurations? so I think it’s possible, but I’m not really sure though.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello @DuoKristina - sorry for the late response as I was away. I had another look, and I found the cause for the error. It was my fault - I double added the “api-” so my proxy was trying to reach “api-api-xxxxxx”.

After removing “api-”, it’s now working.

Thank you so much!

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

timshores1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello @akosijesyang, good to hear from you and thank you for posting!