cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ConnectWise and Duo Access Gateway or ADFS

mattk1
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Duo Access Gateway and to ADFS and am a little confused as to what the differences are between the two.

We need to have Duo protect Connectwise Manage, which I’m told we can do (even though no one currently supports it) via SSO/SAML 2.0 using DUO’s generic SAML service provider.

I set up a DAG server thinking that was the best way to go, but now I’m not so sure. I’m having trouble determining if DAG and ADFS work in tandem or if they are different ways of doing the same thing.

I was under the impression I could just install ADFS on our Domain Controller and link it up to the DAG server, but that doesn’t seem to jive with anything I am now reading.

Would DAG fit somewhere on this network map? https://duo.com/docs/adfs#deployment-overview.

Thanks for your help!

Matt

13 Replies 13

DuoKristina
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Duo Access Gateway and AD FS are both SAML 2.0 capable identity providers (or IdPs). They perform the same function: accept a login redirect request from some application, authenticate it against an identity store, and return access approval back to the application.

Look at these network diagrams for DAG and AD FS; you’ll notice the DAG and the AD FS server occupy the same spot.

DAG

ADFS

You do not have to deploy DAG if you’d rather use AD FS with Connectwise Manage. You can set up Connectwise Manage as a relying party in AD FS, and you can then also install the Duo MFA plugin for AD FS to protect those logins.

It is possible to use both DAG and AD FS together. When you deploy DAG you configure it to use AD FS as a SAML IdP primary authentication source, so DAG talks to AD FS which then talks to AD, instead of DAG talking to AD directly. There are a few reasons for this, for example when someone already has a robust existing SAML identity infrastructure and don’t want to add Duo to it directly.