AD Sync overwrites existing DUO admins?


#1

Looking over the documentation for “Synchronizing Users from Active Directory”, there’s a warning about syncing over accounts with the same name. Our DUO admins were already enrolled beforehand. Is there a possibility of locking out the admins, and what are recommended best practices for DUO admins in conjunction with AD sync?


#2

Hi pfftnah, if you are referring to Duo Administrators (the ones listed in your Admin Panel at https://admin.duosecurity.com/admins), they are separate from Duo Users–even Administrators that have the same email as a User. Duo Administrators will not be overwritten by synchronized user information.

More info on the differences between Duo Administrators and Users is in this article: https://help.duo.com/s/article/1008