Views
Helpful
Replies

Not understanding Cisco AAA with ldap_server_auto for auth proxy

mbrowneminence
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I’m new to Duo and secondary authentication.

I’d like to use LDAP via the authentication proxy to authenticate users to my Cisco ASA.

I already have an LDAP application set up in Duo for Cisco SSL VPN, and I’m unsure if I can repurpose this application for use with the authentication proxy.

Here is the the config with ikey and skey removed:

[ad_client]
host=DC1.contoso.corp
host_2=DC2.eminence.corp
service_account_username=ldapperdan
service_account_password_protected=[something]
search_dn=DC=contoso,DC=corp
security_group_dn=CN=VPN Duo Users,OU=Groups,DC=contoso,DC=corp
transport=ldaps
ssl_ca_certs_file=contoso_ca_base64.cer
ssl_verify_hostname=true
auth_type=ntlm2

[ldap_server_auto]
ikey=[integration key from Cisco SSL VPN app]
skey_protected=[protected secret key from Cisco SSL VPN app]
■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■
client=ad_client
factors=push,passcode
failmode=safe
port=6389
interface=0.0.0.0

The authentication proxy accepts connections on that port, but I am unsure how to bind and what credentials to bind with. If I try the service_account_username I receive a failure. Note that this user can bind successfully to my the global catalog servers’ LDAP.

Assistance is appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

4 Replies 4

Dooley
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Matt,

It sounds like you may be mixing up the documentation for our Cisco primary and alternate configuration processes.

The two configurations have a variety of differences, so I would recommend referencing this knowledge base article to understand your options before moving forward with configuration: https://help.duo.com/s/article/2295.

If you’re going to use the alternate configuration with the Authentication Proxy, you will need to create a Cisco RADIUS VPN application in the Duo Admin Panel per the alternate configuration process here: https://duo.com/docs/cisco-alt.